Pizza is one of those foods that causes a great controversy (ask any displaced New Yorker, you’re bound to get some answer with unnecessary conviction .) Whether it’s the deep-dish, squared off, thick crust, thin crust, sweet sauce, white sauce argument– not even broaching the toppings debate– you’re bound to get an opinion from someone. Anyone keeping up with the recent food trends in Atlanta is well aware of the not-so-silent pizza war going on. With the opening of Antico Napoletana, the slice stations around the city certainly had to step up their game.

That being said, one of the first pizzerias to advance their bases was Fritti, the 10 year veteran restaurant of Riccardo Ullio (Sotto Sotto, Escorpion.) Having never been in before (I’ve worked in pizza and Italian for about 10 years… not the first thing I usually want dining out,) I stopped in last night for a pie and some Bravos-Giants action. I settled upon the Carciofi e Olives pie to split, and with it’s arrival felt ashamed I hadn’t wandered in this spot before. With the new ridiculously fancy oven the restaurant installed, I wish that I had sampled the previous servings as a nice comparison, but was quite happy with the product I received. Their pizzas are certified by the Associazone Verace Pizza Napoletana for added street cred, which has some pricey requirements for membership. San Marizanio D.O.P Tomatoes from the volcanic planes of Mt. Vesuvius, mozzarella di bufala Campana, and certified Neapolitan wheat flour and yeast are the starting prerequisites, along with a wood-burning oven. I like the simplicity of the pie I ordered, with artichoke hearts and Kalamata olives, but I was completely blown away by the marinara topping my pie. Tomatoes, hands down, are my favorite fruit, and I love the savory, slightly salty flavor worked into the sauce (I will shake my fist at anyone who puts sugar in their marinara.) The crust was satisfactory, but for those looking for the very crisp crust may have been a tad disappointed.

Well, off to the coffee maker, awaking at 6am and making bolognese may have not been the wisest decision….

